Just days left for millions of PayPal customers to avoid new £9 fee

PAYPAL users have just days left to avoid a new £9 “inactivity” fee if they don’t use their account.

The charge will come into force from December 16 for customers that haven’t logged into their PayPal account for 12 consecutive months.

PayPal says an "inactive" account is where the customer hasn't logged in or used their account to send, receive or withdraw money.

The amount you’ll be charged will depend on how much money you have in your account.

If you have more than £9 in your PayPal wallet, you’ll be charged the full £9 fee.

But if you have a smaller amount, for example if you have a balance of £3, the fee will be £3.

If you don't have any money in your PayPal account, or your balance is negative, you won't be charged a fee.

The online payments giant was originally going to charge customers £12 for being "inactive" but it's since reduced this to £9.

As PayPal will only take money from your PayPal balance, your linked debit or credit card won’t be charged.

PayPal couldn't confirm how many inactive UK accounts there are when contacted by The Sun.

How to avoid the fee

To avoid the new £9 charge, log into your PayPal account or make a transaction before 11.59pm on December 15, 2020.

Doing this means your account will have been active in the previous 12 months, so you won't be charged.

If you don't want to risk being charged in the future, and you don't use PayPal, you may want to consider closing the account.

To close your account, log in, go to "settings" and select "close your account" at the bottom of the "account" tab.

Another option is to keep the account open but transfer any cash you have to another account.

This means you won't be charged by PayPal in the future if your account doesn't have a balance.

Alternatively, you can pop a note in your diary so you remember to log in at least once a year to avoid the fee.

If you're having trouble getting into your account, you can call PayPal customer services on 0203 901 7000.

PayPal will warn "inactive" customers that they could need to pay a fee 60 days before they're charged, then again 30 days and seven days before.

PayPal started notifying inactive accounts about the fee from 30 September 2020

The update comes after PayPal went down for customers on Black Friday.

Meanwhile, eBay is changing the way sellers get paid including a move away from PayPal.

Here are three things to watch out for when selling your old gadgets via auction or recycling sites.

Source: Read Full Article