All of the countries that have banned travel from UK amidst coronavirus pandemic

There have now been 162,000 confirmed cases of coronavirus across the world, with more than 6,000 people having lost their lives to the associate Covid-19. 

In a bid to stop the virus spreading further, an increasing number of countries have shut their borders.

Below is a list of countries that has banned or restricted entry to people travelling from the UK.


From March 17, Argentina will ban all flights from Europe and the US for 30 days.

People flying in from countries with a high number of Covid-19 cases, such as the UK, will have to go into quarantine for 14 days.


Everyone flying into the country, aside from those coming from the Pacific Islands, will be required to self-isolate for 14 days.


The West African nation has barred Brits from entering.


No tourists are being allowed entry to Bhutan.

  • Coronavirus: Obituary pages in Italian newspaper show devastating scale of deaths

  • Coronavirus: Teacher's pepper trick perfectly shows children importance of washing hands


From Monday all Brits flying into Beijing will be quarantined for 14 days, even if they have not flown from the UK.


Everyone flying into the country who has been to Europe or Asia in the past 14 days will be barred entry to Colombia from March 16.

Czech Republic

As of midnight on Friday, those flying from the UK and 14 other countries have not be allowed into the Czech Republic.


Anyone without a medical certificate showing they are clear of the coronavirus will not be allowed into the country.


All foreign nationals, including Brits, who "do not have a recognised purpose for entering Denmark" will be barred from entry as of yesterday.

  • First blue Brexit passports issued as stock of EU burgundy covers run out

El Salvador

El Salvador shut its borders to everyone but diplomats and residents on March 11.


Anyone coming from a country with one or more cases of coronavirus cannot enter Gabon.


The central American country has barred UK citizens coming into the country effective from Monday, with those from Canada, South Korea, Italy, France, China and Iran also not allowed in.


All tourists were barred from entering India on March 13, with the ban to run until April 15.


Since March 12 all incoming foreign travellers have had to self-isolate for two weeks.


Although those flying from the UK to Italy will not be stopped, all incoming travellers will be subject to temperature screenings at airports.


Flights from the UK to Iran are still be accepted.

However, a large number of airlines, including Emirates and Oman Airlines, have announced a suspension of flights to and from Iran.

There are also reports of travel restrictions in several provinces.


Only Jamaican citizens, spouses and children of Jamaican citizens and foreign residents of Jamaica travelling from the UK, directly or indirectly, will be allowed to enter. 


As a country with confirmed cases, flights from Britain are banned for the foreseeable future.


The European country will stop allowing Brits to enter from midnight on March 16.


The island has barred all cruise ships from docking for an unspecified period.


The Maltese authorities have introduced a number of measures, including a mandatory 14 day self-quarantine period for all arrivals.


The north African country has closed its sea and land borders to travellers from a number of countries.

Although the UK is not amongst them yet, it is expected to be added to the list soon.

New Zealand

While the island nation is still accepting inbound flights, all incoming travellers, including its own citizens, have to self-isolate for two weeks.

North Korea

Although not the easiest country to get into at the best of time, North Korea has completely shut its border to Brits as it grapples with a serious coronavirus outbreak.


Anyone flying into Norway will be quarantined for two weeks, whether they have symptoms or not, the Norweigan Directorate of Health reported on March 12.

A day later Oslo's official website announced all “foreign travelers from countries outside the Nordics arriving at Oslo airport will have to return home.”


The country has suspended all tourist visas for a month starting today.


The country's government announced on March 12 that all flights from Asia and Europe would be stopped, but it is still not clear when that ban will come into force.


On March 13 the country stopped accepting visitors from the UK and Ireland.

Saudi Arabia

Saudi Arabia suspended all international flights from today for the next two weeks.

Solomon Islands

An early adopter of the travel ban, the Solomon Islands has stopped anyone from entering who has come from a country with a confirmed case of coronavirus.


From 13 March, entry to the country is allowed only for Slovak citizens and foreign residents.

British nationals with temporary or permanent residence are allowed to enter the country by land border.

South Korea

As of today all travellers arriving from the UK and several other European countries will be subject to additional screening on arrival.

They will also be asked to report their health status to the authorities for 14 days after arrival. 


Although Spain has not banned Brits from flying in, airlines including Ryanair and Jet2 have cancelled flights into the country.

The Federated States of Micronesia in the Pacific

The country has enforced an outright ban of everyone entering but from countries with no reported coronavirus cases.


Screening measures are in place at the country's airports and those who show symptoms may be quarantined in hospital for 14 days. 

While flights from the UK are not banned, Uganda's government urged those travelling for non-essential reasons to reconsider.

The United States

On March 14, the US government extended an existing European travel ban to the UK and Ireland, with the exception of returning US citizens and legal residents.

As a result, the FCO updated its advice on March 15 and advises against all but essential travel to the whole country.


For at least a month all flights from Europe and Colombia are banned.


Vietnam has shut its borders to the UK and the Schengen Area countries as of today.

Source: Read Full Article